Located in the north shore of Seine River in Paris City, the Place de la Concorde is one of the most beautiful and famous square in the world, which was founded in 1757, designed by the famous architect Gabriel.
The square was called “Louis XV Square” because the square center once had a statue of him in 1763. It has been renamed “revolution square” in a period of French Revolution. In 1795, it was renamed the “Place de la Concorde” in 1840.
Between the year of 1835 and 1840, two grand fountains and some ornate monuments were added. The monuments, with decorative patterns, are the symbol of Paris. The two fountains reflect excellent navigation and shipping technology. In fact the two fountains are just imitation of St. Peter’s Square fountain in Rome.
In the square, there are eight statues on behalf of the biggest cities in nineteenth century. On the northwest is Rouen and Brest; northeast lies Lille and Strasbourg; southwest stands Bordeaux and Nantes; southeast are Marseille, Lyon.
The horse of Marley stands at the entrance of Champs Elysees, designed by the sculptor Coustou, initially for the Sun King Louis XIV. In 1794, the statue was moved from Marley Leroy palace garden shipping to Paris, and then was placed in the Place de la Concorde.
The Egyptian obelisk stands in the Egyptian obelisk, with a height of 23 meters. With a history of 3,400 years, the Egyptian obelisk was presented by the Egyptian governor Muhammad Ali to France in 1831. The stone tablet were records of ancient Egyptian Pharaoh. It took a lot of work to transport the Egyptian obelisk which with a height of 23 meters and 230 tons.
Finally, this obelisk arrived in France in 1836 October, after two and a half years sailing. Louis Philip took this obelisk as the symbol of political neutrality between royalists and republicans in the Place de la Concorde